The Jackstädt-Award “HSG Founder of the Year”

An unique, innovative, sustainable, and successful startup of a HSG-affiliate is decorated every year with the Jackstädt-Award “HSG Founder of the Year”.

Award ceremony

On March 24th, 2017, the award ceremony was held at the Entrepreneurship Day during the START summit 2017.

We warmly congratulate the Award Winner Lea von Bidder with her startup “Ava”.
You will find the official press release here.

How to apply

Please hand in a Pitch-Deck or Businessplan containing relevant information (e.g. sales, number of funding rounds and/or employees, etc.) and a CV of the award elegible person (HSG-Affiliate) to
Deadline: Beginning of March, 2018

To win the Jackstädt-Award “HSG Founder of the year”, the following criteria have to be met:

  • The startup consists of at least one HSG student, employee, scholar, or alumnus / alumna.
  • HSG supported the realisation of the business idea with essential impulses (e.g. lectures, coaching, network).
  • The business activity has already started and achieved remarkable market traction.
  • The business activity does not contradict legal, ethical, or moral values and is compliant to the guidelines of the University of St.Gallen.
  • The business idea of the “HSG Founder of the Year” should be extraordinary, innovative, and sustainable.

The following criteria are relevant:

  • Level of innovation of the business model (transaction volume, charges, and marketing model)
  • Innovative approach to the customer benefit
  • A unique selling proposition
  • Integration of partners in the value-added process
  • Sustainability of the business venture
  • Market potential and economic growth opportunities

Previous award winners are…


Dr. Alexander Ilic with Dacuda

Alexander Ilic_founder of the year 2011



Adrian Locher with

Adrian Locher_founder of the year 2012



Johann Huber with SomaAnalytics

Johann Huber von SOMA Analytics wurde letztes Jahr zum HSG Gründer des Jahres gewählt



Alexander Graubner-Müller with Kreditech

Alexander Graubner-Müller_Founder of the year 2014


Laura Behrens Wu as cofounder of her startup shippo.



Caspar Coppetti as cofounder of “on” running shoes

 Diego Probst, Caspar Coppetti, Dietmar Grichnik, Manuel Hess (left to right)
Diego Probst, Caspar Coppetti, Dietmar Grichnik, Manuel Hess (left to right)